SSC CHSL Syllabus 2023

The Staff Selection Commission (SSC) conducts the Combined Higher Secondary Level (CHSL) examination for recruitment to various posts in government departments and organizations. The CHSL examination is conducted in three tiers: Tier 1, Tier 2, and Tier 3.

SSC CHSL Syllabus 2023

Here is the syllabus for each tier of the SSC CHSL examination:

Tier 1:

  1. General Intelligence and Reasoning:
    • Analogies
    • Similarities and Differences
    • Space Visualization
    • Spatial Orientation
    • Problem Solving
    • Analysis
    • Judgment
    • Decision Making
    • Visual Memory
    • Discrimination
    • Observation
    • Relationship Concepts
    • Arithmetical Reasoning
    • Verbal and Figure Classification
    • Arithmetic Number Series
    • Non-Verbal Series
    • Coding and Decoding
    • Statement Conclusion
    • Syllogistic Reasoning
  2. General Awareness:
    • Current Events
    • History
    • Geography
    • Economic Scene
    • General Policy
    • Scientific Research
  3. Quantitative Aptitude:
    • Number Systems
    • Computation of Whole Numbers
    • Decimals and Fractions
    • Relationship between Numbers
    • Fundamental Arithmetical Operations
    • Percentages
    • Ratio and Proportion
    • Averages
    • Interest
    • Profit and Loss
    • Discount
    • Time and Distance
    • Time and Work
    • Mensuration
    • Ratio and Time
    • Tables and Graphs
  4. English Language:
    • Spot the Error
    • Fill in the Blanks
    • Synonyms/Antonyms
    • Spellings/Detecting Mis-spelt words
    • Idioms & Phrases
    • One Word Substitution
    • Improvement of Sentences
    • Active/Passive Voice of Verbs
    • Conversion into Direct/Indirect narration
    • Shuffling of Sentence parts
    • Shuffling of Sentences in a passage
    • Cloze Passage
    • Comprehension Passage

Tier 2:

The Tier 2 of SSC CHSL examination is a descriptive paper where candidates have to write an essay (200-250 words) and a letter/application (150-200 words).

  1. Essay Writing:
    • Topics of general interest
  2. Letter/Application Writing:
    • Formal, informal, and personal letters
    • Applications on various subjects

Tier 3:

The Tier 3 of SSC CHSL examination is a skill test or typing test, depending on the post applied for.

  1. Skill Test:
    • Data Entry Speed Test (DEST) for the post of Data Entry Operator (DEO)
  2. Typing Test:
    • Typing Speed Test (TST) for the post of Postal Assistant/Sorting Assistant (PA/SA), Lower Division Clerk (LDC), and Court Clerk

Please note that the syllabus provided here is a general overview and may be subject to change. It is always recommended to refer to the official SSC CHSL notification and syllabus for the most accurate and up-to-date information.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *